It took me a little longer than I expected to get around to reading Coach Connors’ book. I ordered my copy after attending the 2015 Jeff Connors’ Strength and Conditioning Clinic earlier this year. I finished reading the book yesterday and I must say that I am really glad that I finally got around to reading it.

In addition to sharing his experiences as a coach and athlete (not to mention his experiences as a police officer), the book outlines Coach Connors’ training philosophy and practices. Having read the book once, I intend to go back through it again and take copious notes. If you are an aspiring or current strength and conditioning professional, particularly at the college level, I highly recommend that you read this book.

Greg Maness' Functional Sports Performance Blog

Strength Coach: A Call to Serve

Coach Jeff Connors has made a name for himself as a strength and conditioning coach. My first year at East Carolina University was 1991. That was the same season that the Pirates football team won the 1992 Peach Bowl and finished the season 11 and 1. There is no doubt that the contributions of Coach Connors played a role in the success of the football team that season and in subsequent seasons. After leaving ECU for a 10-year stint at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, he returned to Greenville in 2011. The Pirates are indeed fortunate to have him back.

I was fortunate to have Coach Connors as a teacher in my first year at East Carolina University. He was the instructor of my football skills and methods class. The class was designed to teach physical education students the basics of the game…

View original post 160 more words

Link | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

